Georgia Teen Driver, Part 1:Getting a Driver’s Permit

/, Georgia Teen Driver, Insurance Tips/Georgia Teen Driver, Part 1:Getting a Driver’s Permit

Georgia Teen Driver, Part 1:Getting a Driver’s Permit

Georgia Drivers PermitClass CP Instructional Permit

In the state of Georgia, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a driver’s permit, otherwise known as a Class CP instructional permit.

Before heading to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS), you will need to pull together some documents – things like…

  • birth certificate,
  • US passport,
  • Social Security card, etc.

…in order to show proof of your identity, residential address, social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful presence in the United States.

If the teen’s name has changed from what is shown on birth certificate or other documentation, then other paperwork will need to be shown to prove the legal name change. For more information on required documentation, see the DDS website.

You will also need to bring along a Certificate of Attendance from your school dated within the last 30 days, or a High School Diploma or GED. You will not be allowed to apply for a driver’s permit if you have withdrawn from school or if you have a total of 10 or more unexcused absences, or if you have conduct infractions.

Once at the DDS, you will be required to pay $10 and then pass both a Vision Exam and a Knowledge Exam.

The Vision Exam is conducted by looking into a mechanical device, listening to the instructions from the examiner, and responding to his/her questions by reading the screen. The minimum acceptable vision is 20/60 in one eye, with or without corrective lenses, and a field of vision of, at least, 140 degrees.

The Knowledge Exam consists of two tests – the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test. The applicant must pass each test. A minimum score of 15 out of 20 correct answers, on each test, is required to pass. Necessary information can be found in the DDS Driver Manual. A Practice Test is available on the website at no cost. The Road Rules Test consists of questions about driver responsibility, knowledge of laws and safe driving practices, applicable to the class of license for which the applicant applied. The Road Signs Test consists of questions about the meaning of standard highway signs. You will be asked to identify certain signs, signals and markers.

If you pass both exams, your picture will be taken and you will sign a signature card that will be used to produce your instructional permit card. The Class CP instructional permit is good for a period of 2 years, but you may apply for your Class D provisional license after holding your permit successfully for one year and a day.

Further Information:
Georgia Teen Driver Overview
Part 1: Getting Your Driver’s Permit
Part 2: Obtaining Your Provisional Driver’s License
Part 3: Teenagers & Auto Insurance (coming soon)
Part 4: Your Class C Georgia Driver’s License (coming soon)

Leave A Comment