After you’ve held your Class CP Instructional Permit for one year and a day, you can apply for your Class D Provisional Driver’s License as long as you have not had any major traffic violations that resulted in the suspension of your permit.
JOSHUA’S LAW – STATE OF GEORGIA
If you are under the age of 17, you must satisfy Georgia’s Joshua Law which requires driver’s training to be completed. Joshua’s Law driver’s training is a combination of:
- classroom instruction and
- behind-the wheel driving experience.
Joshua’s Law requirements can be met through four different combinations of either:
DDS approved school classroom instruction –OR– DDS approved virtual classroom instruction, AND
[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”yes” overflow=”visible”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”no” center_content=”no” min_height=”none”][ 6 hours DDS approved school behind-the-wheel AND 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian ] –OR– Completion of the Parent-Teen Driving Guide
The following chart shows the four combinations that will satisfy Georgia’s Joshua’s Law:
The Parent-Teen Driving Guide is a cost-effective option for many families that can save the hundreds of dollars for behind-the-wheel training. However, it is time-consuming and requires dedication by both the parent and the teen to SATISFACTORILY complete all the exercises in the guide. If the teen does NOT receive a satisfactory mark on an exercise, then it must be repeated until it can be marked as satisfied. A Provisional Driver’s License will NOT be issued unless the Driving Guide has been thoroughly completed and ALL exercises are marked with a satisfactory grade.
MAKE AN APPOINTMENT
Before heading out to your local DDS, it is a good idea to make an appointment for the Road Skills Test. Without a reservation, you will often wait longer and be worked in between those who have appointments, and there will be no guarantee that you will even be served on a particular day. Reservations are made by calling a centralized reservation line at 678-413-8400 and then select Option 4. If outside of metro Atlanta, you can call 866-754-3687 and select Option 4. The reservation lines are open from 7am until 5:15pm Monday through Friday. Please have your Class CP Instructional Permit number available when calling to make an appointment. For more information on making appointments for the Road Skills Test, see the Georgia DDS website.
GETTING READY FOR THE DAY
Before heading out to the DDS for your appointment, ensure that you have gathered together the following documentation (all documents must be in English):
- Documentation proving your identity, address, social security number, and US Citizenship or proof of lawful presence. See the DDS website for more information on the documents that will be required.
- Your Class CP Instructional Permit (Driver’s Permit) – you will be required to surrender this when you get your Class D Provisional Driver’s License.
- Certificate of Attendance (DS-1) dated within the last 30 days –OR– High School Diploma –OR– GED.
- ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion.
- If the Parent-Teen Driving Guide was used to satisfy Joshua’s Law: the session checklists (all marked satisfactory), signed 40-hour Driving Log, and the Parent/Teen Driving Agreement.
- Insurance card covering the vehicle to be used in the Road Skills Test.
- Vehicle registration card.
- Current (unexpired) tabs/license plate on vehicle.
For more information on required documents to obtain your driver’s license, see the DDS website.
ROAD SKILLS TEST
On the Road Skills Test you will be expected to do all or part of the following:
- Parallel Parking: Park midway between two standards so that your car is not more than 18 inches from the curb.
- Quick Stops: Drive at a speed of 20 miles per hour and make a quick, safe stop when the examiner instructs you.
- Backing: Back your car for a distance of about 50 feet, at a slow rate of speed, and as straight and as smoothly as possible. Turn your head and look back at all times while backing.
- Stopping for Signs or Traffic Signals: Give the proper hand or brake signal; approach in the proper lane; stop before reaching a pedestrian crosswalk; and remain stopped until you can move safely through.
- Turnabout: Turn your car in a narrow space using two-, three- or five- point turns.
- Use of Clutch: If your car has a standard transmission, you must shift smoothly and correctly.
- Approaching Corners: You must be in proper lane and look in both directions.
- Yielding Right-of-Way: Always yield right-of-way to pedestrians, motor vehicles, bicyclists or anyone else who moves into the intersection before you.
- Turning: Get into the proper lane and give signal an adequate distance before reaching the turn.
- Passing: Always look ahead and behind to make sure you can safely pass without interfering with other traffic.
- Following: Do not drive too closely behind other cars. Watch the car ahead of you; when it passes some reference point, such as a telephone pole, and then count “one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two.” If you pass the same spot before you are through counting, you are following too closely.
- Posture: Keep both hands on the steering wheel. Do not rest your elbow on the window and do not attempt to carry on a conversation with the Examiner because they will be busy giving instructions and recording your score.
At the end of the test, the license examiner will gladly show you your score sheet and will provide you ample opportunity to discuss the test if you so desire. The applicant must achieve a minimum score of 75% to pass.
- Applicants who fail the Road Skills Test must wait at least one day to retest.
- Applicants who fail the Road Skills Test a second or subsequent time (third, fourth, etc.) must wait at least 7 days to retest.
- A 30 day waiting period to retest applies to an applicant who fails the Road Skills Test due to a traffic accident or traffic violation during the Road Skills Test, whether ticketed or not.
- All retesting is subject to reservation availability.
- The permit fee must be paid before the test begins. DDS accepts cash, money order, check or credit/debit cards.
- Fees are not refundable and must be paid each time the test is taken.
Georgia Teen Driver Overview
Part 1: Getting Your Driver’s Permit
Part 2: Obtaining Your Provisional Driver’s License
Part 3: Teenagers & Auto Insurance (coming soon)
Part 4: Your Class C Georgia Driver’s License (coming soon)[/fusion_builder_column][/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]